To Sleep

Image

 [Painting by William Etty]

I want to sleep and take my evening slow

Each night is full of thoughts I need to fear

I learn to let the shadows slowly go

 

I feel by thinking all we need to know

I listen to the blood pulse in our ear

I want to sleep and take my evening slow

 

There’s steady breath and warmth in touching you

Curled round your curves I nestle softly there

I learn to let the shadows slowly go

 

Awake in moonlit silence tell me how

I walk the landing climb the winding stair

I want to sleep and take my evening slow

 

My head is filled with things I have to do

Let’s go and breathe the jasmine scented air

I’m learning how to make the shadows go

 

I’m uncertain I can ever hope to know

A way for sleep to rest with death so near

I want to sleep and take my evening slow

I learned to let the shadows slip and go

 

 

© M.L. Emmett

 

4 Comments

Filed under Art, Poem

4 responses to “To Sleep

  1. Beautiful writing, with a sense of sadness behind the words, I hope you are ok.

    Like

  2. What rhythm! Beautiful with simple diction.

    Like

  3. Lovely way you marked cadence with the final line of each stanza.

    Like

  4. I completely agree with the other comments. I always have a smooth time reading your work and I love this one especially

    Like

Leave a Reply

